Sens Land Starting Goalie

The Senators have acquired Tristan Jarry from the Capitals
7/6/2022 • Steve Downs

Just days away from the 2022 DCHL draft the Ottawa Senators have acquired their goalie of the future. The Sens have traded two second round picks and a third round pick to the Washington Capitals for Tristan Jarry and a seventh round pick. Although he had a disappointing 2021/22 season going 16-17-1 in 34 starts last year Jarry is seen by many as a goalie with a great deal of potential as a starter. “He is going to have a chance to develop and grow as our franchise develops over the next few years. Our team is done rebuilding, we want to compete for a playoff spot next year and Tristan is going to be a big part of that” GM Steve Downs told reporters at a press conference early this afternoon.

The Sens lineup should be much improved from last season. Gustav Nyquist is set to return from injury that had him out all of last season. Rookies Dawson Mercer and Cole Perfetti look ready to assume every day roles with the big club.

Several other young players look like they will need another year or so before they join the team. Jakob Pelletier and J.J. Peterka had outstanding years last year in the AHL and will push for playing time while Carson Lambos and Fabian Lysell still need time to develop but appear to be impact players when they arrive.

The club does have one notable player missing this year. Sami Vatanen has opted to go play in Switzerland and will opt out of the final three years of his contract. The team will look to Phillippe Myers, who they acquired mid way through last season for a fourth round pick, to pick up the void that Vatanen left behind.


Sens Probable Opening Night Lineup

Alex Ovechkin                   Max Domi                            Gustav Nyquist

Alex Killorn                          Mikael Granlund              Dawson Mercer

Kevin Labanc                      Nick Paul                              Riley Sheahan

Dryden Hunt                      Cole Perfetti                      Arttu Ruotsaleinan

Jakob Chychrun                Shayne Gostisbehere

Ben Hutton                         Radko Gudas

Mark Boroweicki              Phillipe Myers

Tristan Jarry

Michael Hutchinson