Madison Square Garden
Capital One Arena
Wells Fargo Center
Prudential Center
KeyBank Center
TD Garden
Centre Bell
UBS Arena
Canada Life Centre
Enterprise Center
American Airlines Center
Honda Center
Rogers Arena

E.15 March 14

3/14/2022 • Jean Brisson

Hello and welcome to another edition of What's hot/What's Not.

This week ill go in another direction, meaning we will stay away from our usual subject for at least 1 week. Sorry Will, i know you need your weekly dose of the Florida Panthers.   We will instead tackle the trophies awarded at years end with our own early prediction.  Congrats San Jose, you win everything... just kidding.. but not really... Lets get right to it.

STANLEY CUP: Awarded to the playoff winner

Winner: San Jose Sharks

This team is just too good not to be the favorite to win it all. After falling just short last year in the finals to the Buffalo Sabres, Gm Wile went and acquired John Carlson which will be a massive boost to this team.  It'll almost feel like a disapointment if they dont win it all this year. 

honorable mentions: Philadelphia, Carolina, NYI, Dallas, Winnipeg

PRESIDENT'S TROPHY: Awarded to the club finishing the regular season with the best overall record

Winner: San Jose Sharks

No surprise here, Gm Wile and his San Jose Sharks are the clear favorite. They have 88 points already, 6 up on Philly with games in hand. Vasilevskiy can also play another 17 games.  It will take a huge disaster for this team to lose this trophy, with their depth, even a key injury would'nt be much of an issue.

honorable mentions: Philadelpha, Carolina, Winnipeg, Dallas


CLARENCE S CAMPBELL BOWL: Awarded to the playoff champion in the Western Conference

Winner: San Jose Sharks

See above. 

PRINCE OF WALES TROPHY: Awarded to the playoff champion of the Easten Conference

Winner: Philadelphia Flyers

Knowing he was a top team in the east, Gm Guertler is using the regular season to experiment and find the perfect formula.  Lindell joined this club as one of the top def performer this season.  The Flyers had to send young promising blueliner Henri Jokiharu and their 2023 1st meaning the flyers are all in to win it this year.  Winning the metro will be key to avoid facing either Carolina or the Islanders in the 1st round.

honorable mentions: Carolina, NYI, Buffalo


CONN SMYTHE TROPHY:  Awarded to the MVP of the playoffs

Winner:  Andrei Vasilevkiy

Initially, i was gonna go with Bergeron as he's by far San Jose top performer, but come playoff time, i think Andrei will shine, Bergeron and the rest will perform really well but since all the players will be equally good,  only Vasileskiy will stand out and will be awarded the Conn Smythe.

honorable mentions: Patrice Bergeron, Mark Stone, Connor Mcjesus


HART MEMORIAL TROPHY: Awarded to the mvp at the end of the regular season

Winner: Patrice Bergeron

I really didnt wanna stick with San Jose but he's the team top scorer by a crazy 24 pts.  Having one player stand out like that on the league's best team makes this choice a no brainer.  Another team will need to pass San Jose in the standings for him to lose this award.

Honorable Mentions: Sasha Barkov, Tuuka Rask, M-A Fleury


VEZINA TROPHY: Awarded to the best goaltender

Winner: Marc-Andre Fleury

This was a tough choice, but i have Fleury winning this award.  He has a record of 30-14-4-2 and league leading 2,22 GAA.  Vasilevskiy's record cant be ignored (39-7-2-4)  but Fleury with a better GAA and playing behind a good team but nowhere near San Jose's talent level is what made me opt for Calgary's netminder here.   

Honorable Mentions: Andrei Vasilevskiy, Tuukka Rask, Anton Khudobin


JAMES NORRIS MEMORIAL TROPHY: Awarded to the best defenseman

Winner: Alex Goligoski

Surprise winner here, not a name we expected.  Goligoski has been great, maybe one of the main reason why Pittsburgh have been overachieving this year.  He's 4th in pts among defenseman, in 3-6 less games than the players ahead of him.  He has one of the best +/- of the top defs with a +12. He's also top 10 in blocked shots and only 30 pims in 55 games.  His 4 game winning goals also lead all defenseman.  

Honorable Mentions: Tyson Barrie, Alex Pietrangelo, Jacob Trouba, Devon Toews


CALDER MEMORIAL TROPHY: Awarded to the best rookie

Winner: Kirill Kaprizov

Annndddd were back to the sharks,  Kaprizov is the sure winner here.  With 45 pts in 57 games, he leads Pius Suter by 13 pts. He's also rocking a +29. All this with a very low shooting % of 8.55.  Just give him the trophy already.  

Honorable Mentions: Pius Suter, Alexander Romanov, Ty Smith


ART ROSS TROPHY: Awarded to the player who finished with the most points.

Winner: Aleksander Barkov

There are 2 reasons why i choose Barkov to win this trophy.  1- Because he's currently leading the scoring race and 2- Because Gm Sifton in Arizona is in a hard race for the playoffs its a guarantee that he'll rely heavily on his big guns to bring him to the post season while other gms might spread the icetime around to avoid injuries.  

Honorable Mentions:  Patrice Bergeron, Vincent Trochek, Leon Draisaitl


FRANK J SELKE TROPHY: Award given to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game.

Winner: Vincent Trochek

Since we dont see actual gameplay, ill have to rely on stats for this award.  While being 4th in the league in scoring, his stat line is impressive across the board.  He also leads the league in +/-, and has an impressive 156 hits. 

Honorable Mentions: Elias Lindholm, Evander Kane, Philip Danault


LADY BING MEMORIAL TROPHY:  Awarded to the player who has exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.

Winner: Aleksander Barkov 

When the league's leading scorer has 0 pims and only 4 hits, is there really a debate here?   The only competition here was teamate Atkinson with 0 pim also but almost doubling up on Barkov with 7 hits.  Known goon Draisaitl would be in 3rd with a disgusting 4 pim and 22 hits.  

Honorable Mentions: Cam Atkinson, Leon Draisaitl, Nicklas Backstrom


MAURICE RICHARD TROPHY: Awarded to the player with the most goals.

Winner: David Pastrnak

Tied in 2nd place with Marchand and 1 behind Barkov, Pasta has all the tools and teamates to win this award.  He's currently leading the league in shots and his shooting % is 3% higher since joining Dallas 7 games ago.  Playing alongside superstar Leon Draisaitl should help him gain top spot down the line.

Honorable Mentions: Aleksander Barkov, Brad Marchand, Patrice Bergeron


JIM GREGORY GM OF THE YEAR: Awarded to the best general manager.

Winner:  Chris Jacobus

Not sure we have this award in the dchl but i decided to add it as active gms who have perfomed well should get recognition.  It was a real toss up between Chicago's Jacobus and Pittsburgh's Larin.  Both gms have team that, on paper, shouldnt be as good as they are.   Pittsburgh sits comfortable in the playoffs but being in a conference where only 7 teams are actually playoff team calibre is where the scale tipped in chicago's favor.  Gm Jacobus has his Blackhawks sitting 1 pts out of the playoff race, being in the central makes this very impressive considering the team he's dressing. He's got 2 elite goaltender and they're carrying this team.  Making the playoffs might lock him into winning this award, missing the playoffs will certainly lose it for him but great year nonetheless.  

 Honorable Mentions: Sean Larin, Max Lauzon


That is all for this article, 
Thanks for tuning in
You stay classy, DCHL